January 5

Jackson Browne is one of my all time favorites. I remember when “The Load Out” became popular and friends moms were blaring the record from their Hi-Fis when we walked home from school in 1977.

The vocalist who sings the “stay” part falsetto in this song was also the lead guitar player for the Jackson Brown Band, David Lindley. Frankie Valli eat your heart out!

In 1977 I was 12, so my awareness of these things was limited. But my next JB encounter was not so easily dismissed…

We dissected that movie in great detail! Who was who, what was what, were malls really like that? Should I really wear “Van’s”? Vuarnets?  (or were they Ray-Bans?)

Spicoli was us. Mr. Hand was them!

Later in life I got in to the Pre Spocoli Jackson Browne and was hooked. The lyrics, the meaning, the tunes!

David Lindley was the guitar player on all those records, and with slide player “Sneaky” Pete, filled many a dorm room of mine with beautiful music.

In 2000, I got a call from a friend, “The local college radio station is getting rid of ALL of their vinyl, going strictly digital, their records are sitting there with a “free” sign on them”. After I revived myself, I headed down to the UMPI campus to find boxes and boxes of SOGGY vinyl!

I loaded said vinyl into the back of my car like I was transporting a burn victim. I placed hundreds of albums into my dry apartment. I had albums spread out on every flat surface I could find, trying to wick the moisture out of them.

Black mold is an insidious thing:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stachybotrys

As hard as I tried, I could not save the flock. The smell of musty records filled the room night after night as I paced the hall. Finally, I culled the herd to save the worthy. Bel Biv Devoe was cast off, as were 12″ singles by, well, everyone, and all manner of LP.

The cream (not “The Cream” sorry) rose to the top and, there it was. David Lindley and El Rayo-X, “Very Greasy” (1988).

elrayox

Suffice to say, some mold persisted, but has been dealt with ATM. Great record, produced by Linda Ronstadt, with fun DL hyjinx!

Look for a great version of Warren Zevon’s “Werewolvesf of London”.

Leave a Reply

