January 13

You win some and you loose some. When you hunt for vinyl records, most of the time you strike out, but sometimes you get lucky and score a real gem that will be a welcome addition to your collection.

I don’t remember where I nabbed this copy of Supertramp – Even in the Quietest Moments… It was quite a while ago, and I must have just done a quick visual grading of the vinyl and decided it was worth the $0.99 or whatever the thrift store I was in was charging.

220px-Supertramp_-_Even_in_the_Quietest_Moments

Now, I’m not a huge Supertramp fan, but I do own a copy of Breakfast in America (from 1979) on CD and really like it. Even in the Quietest Moments… is from 1977, in the middle of a run of popular hits for the band. The hit single was “Give a Little Bit” which hit #15 in the US.

(Goo Goo Dolls, sorry…)

I’ve recently begun to sort through my accumulated vinyl. I picked up a lot of “stuff” in the ’80s and ’90s that I never got around to listening to. Some of it (four Partridge Family records, really?) I just got because it was weird. Some I had plans for… I have what I’m sure is the greatest K-tel record collection known to man. My copy of Even in the Quietest Moments… is one of the smoothest sounding records I own.

Like I said, it looked good, but when I dusted it off and put it on the turntable there was that beautiful nothing for a brief moment before the music started… aaaahhhhh!

The standout song for me was the title track “Even in the Quietest Moments”, at six-and-a-half minutes, it really has a chance to stretch out. The thing opens with some interestingly mixed bird sounds and segues into 12 string and woodwind which then becomes a full on vinyl meditation moment. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

