January 24

Jazz is not really my thing. Neither is quitting. I keep listening to jazz records, trying to understand why some people devote their lives to this form of music.

Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate the virtuosity, and the staggering musicianship I hear from many jazz recordings, and I do like the be-bop, big band, swing jazz styles. I guess it’s the fusion thing I don’t care for. The instrument plays a big part too. I’m much more tolerant of guitar, bass or drums up front than I am of piano, synth or other instruments that are foreign to my palate.

Enter Chick Corea and Gary Burton – Lyric Suite for Sextet.

Chick is a piano player, famous for, among other things, playing with Miles Davis. I realize some of his work is held up a the standard of jazz of a certain era. Burton is a vibraphonist, famous for, among other things, developing a technique for using four mallets (two in each hand). He also played with Stan Getz and Astrud Gilberto, the Girl from Ipanema duo (I love that song).

Yup, there he is, the McLovin’ there on the vibes!

To be fair, this sextet is a duo with strings backing them up. Not that this is a bad thing, but this is definitely another Corea/Burton record. It sounds gorgeous, and was well produced by the German Edition of Contemporary Music (ECM) label. The standout tracks for me were the ones where Corea and Burton played note for note in unison. The pairing danced across the soundstage of the recording beautifully.

I hope the next owner of my RRR Estate score enjoys it.

Leave a Reply

