February 5

I like to say that I’ve got the greatest K-tel record collection in the world. Well, the greatest K-tel and Ronco record collection in the world. You know, those “as advertised on T.V.” compilations of “20 Original Hits! 20 Original Stars!” records?

ktel_ronco

I’ve got over 60. I’m sure someone somewhere has more, but, until I see proof, I’m sticking to my story.

My collection started as a joke. In the 90s you could have all of these things you wanted at any thrift store for a song. I gathered a few to use on a Saturday afternoon radio show I hosted. It was a lark, but people started calling in to the station saying how much fun they were having listening to Hot Chocolate doing I Believe in Miracles and Donna Summer doing Bad Girls while working in the garden or cleaning house.

I collected more and more until the DJ gig played itself out…

Recently, I was in the record store Groove Merchants with my wife. She found several K-tel records that were like brand new. I was sure I already had these albums, but, these she found were pristine. The price was right so we brought them home to replace the banged up copies I owned. Later, I was in another thrift store and came across a seemingly mint copy of the K-tel release Rebel Rouser, an all instrumental 20 song (natch) compilation of 50s and 60s guitar/surf songs. I passed…

“I got enough of this crap!” I told myself. When I told my wife about the pass she was a little disappointed, “You can’t tell people the you have the greatest K-tel record collection in the world if you pass up good copies of ones you don’t have!”, she reasoned.

I love that girl!

As expected, the LP was still there when I made it back to that same thrift store. I laid down my $1.00 and now can say, with confidence, that I have the greatest K-tel record collection in the world!

Now I just need a DJ gig to share the wealth with the world…

2 thoughts on “February 5

Leave a Reply

