February 18

Sometimes you need to go to the thrift store to find old records. Sometimes the thrift sore comes to you! My cousin recently came for a visit. He knew I was doing this goofy vinyl blog and decided he’d bring a haul from his neck of the woods to aid in my endeavor.

WP_20150217_002

Yup, that’s 19 new records! Lou Grahm, Leo Sayer, The Firm, E.L.P., Peter, Paul & Mary, America, Cream, the Mamas and the Poppas, Chubby Checker, Rod Stewart, Julian Lennon, Bananarama, Boz Skaggs, B.J.Thomas, Joan Baez, Montrose, England Dan and John Ford Coley and Blood, Sweat and Tears.

A few I already have, a few I never thought of and many I will be glad to add to “The Collection”. After a thorough cleaning, I’ve been working my way through these. The stand out so far has been the Blood, Sweat and Tears LP (their 2nd) which was produced by the same dude that was producing Chicago at the time.

It has much of that blues/funk meets pop/jazz meets big band feel that the Chicago I’m familiar with has. Many recognizable songs on this one, owing in part to the several covers of popular songs by other artists. My favorite has to be Spinning Wheel due to the fact we had a player piano in the house when I was a kid, and Spinning Wheel was one of the 12 piano rolls we owned!

The standout track that I’d never heard before was Blues – Part II which seemed to pay homage to Cream/Willy Dixon.

Anyone else wanna come visit?

Leave a Reply

