March 7

I’m a sucker for Blue Eyed Soul, so when I found a copy of Daryl Hall & John Oats Abandoned Luncheonette at the Volunteers of America thrift store a while back I decided to pop that $0.50 tag.

Then the “Silver Album” (the duo’s self titled 4th album) turned up at the Spokane Public Radio Recordings & Videos Sale. $3.00 bought us this beauty:

So, now I have two of my favorite Blue Eyed Soul tunes, She’s Gone and Sara Smile.

But what about the rest of songs? The surprise for me was the Abandoned Luncheonette tune Las Vegas Turnaround (The Stewardess Song) that tied the two records together by referencing Sara as the stewardess. Otherwise Abandoned Luncheonette was a bit more folky, with one creepy song, I’m Just a Kid (Don’t Make Me Feel Like a Man). All in all the Silver Album seemed a bit smoother and more sophisticated.

Listening to these two records made me crave some of the other hits from the MTV era but, unfortunately, nothing left on Abandoned Luncheonette or the “Silver Album” filled that cavity craving.

So, will I try to fill in the holes in my Hall & Oats catalog? Probably not… but I am in the market for a good used copy of The Very Best of Daryl Hall & John Oates!

Leave a Reply

