March 14

Happy Pi Day!

To celebrate give a listen to the greatest recorded homage to pie ever recorded: The Monkees Peter Percival Patterson’s Pet Pig Porky from my favorite The Monkees record Pisces, Aquarius, Capricorn & Jones Ltd.

I got a huge kick out of this track when I was a kid listening to my sisters copy of the vinyl record. It must have left an impression on sis too, when it came up last Christmas and we were both able to recite the lyric even after all these years.

I hadn’t listened to any The Monkees since probably 1986. MTV played the TV show as a multiple day marathon that coincided with the album reissue on CD.

I picked up my vinyl copy around that time, recorded it to cassette and it’s been filed away ever since. I broke it out this morning at precisely 9:26:53… it’s still makes me laugh!

PS…Happy birthday Albert!

Leave a Reply

