March 25

I used to buy a lot of greatest hits compilations. It was an easy way to sum up a known artist’s repertoire before buying a bunch of records you are unfamiliar with.

I knew Steve Winwood because a DJ friend of mine loved the Arc of a Diver record and played it over and over again. So, my solo look back started with The Spencer Davis Group – The Best Of:

30+ years on, I am so disappointed! Sorry, I know this will offend some, but this record sounds like shit! Compressed, thin, I don’t know what the heck is going on… I know there were great recordings being made around this time (1967), I know there were great recordings of Steve Winwood around this era (Blind Faith and Traffic) these recordings are lifeless!

Give me a modern Blues Brothers recording of these tunes any day! Off to the trade in pile go you The Spencer Davis Group – The Best Of

Leave a Reply

