April 15

In the spring of 1979 I went to visit my aunt’s family in suburban Portland, Oregon. My Aunt was cool, a decade younger than my parents, she got me my first (and only) ride in a Corvette, bought me my first pair of Converse high tops and took my older cousin and I record shopping.

I picked a compilation The Best Of The Doobies out of the discount bin (natch) while my cousin picked the eponymous album from the band Toto:

My album, full of hits, got a spin or two that trip, but his record… specifically the song Hold The Line was on constant repeat for the remainder of my visit.

I couldn’t wait to get back from Shakey’s Pizza to hear that song again.

My wife scored this record recently. Turns out Hold The Line is her preferred “hill running” song… who knew?

One thought on “April 15

Leave a Reply

