April 22

Sometimes even a blind pig finds an acorn.

Digging through a grungy bin of vinyl at a local thrift store, I stumbled upon this:

…a 10 inch 33 1/3 RPM LP from The Chet Baker Quartet. This 1953 release on the Pacific Jazz label.

I don’t even know who The Chet Baker Quartet is, but the cool retro cover really caught my eye. The back cover… even cooler:

chetbaker

Anyway, the vinyl is hosed, scratched so badly I’m scared to even try and play it! I checked on Discogs to assess a value:

http://www.discogs.com/Chet-Baker-Quartet-The-Chet-Baker-Quartet/release/4354624

Yup, in VG to VG+ condition the thing has sold for between $25 and $200! Now if I could just find a buyer…

Leave a Reply

