May 10

While I’m on the subject of Jerry Jeff Walker, the crate digging deities have smiled down on me in regards to this artist:

jjw

…so much so that I’ve been finding upgrade copies of my older JJW records and have been trading in my old copies for store credit.

The more of this stuff I find, the more I appreciate Walker’s brand of “Outlaw” country, dubbed Cowjazz. The instrumentation leans away from Nashville sound string arrangements and more toward a smooth jazz accompaniment… mixed up with honky-tonk, naturally.

He even named his son Django, that’s badass outlaw cowjazz!

Leave a Reply

