June 7

Having the word out that I am collecting records has paid off again! I was working late a few days back and got a note from my wife that there was a surprise in the back of her car waiting for when I got home.

When I pulled into the driveway and popped open her car here’s what I found waiting:

rush

Not the original Moon Records release, but a really clean copy of the 1983 re-issue! Fantastic!

Rush has released two of my all time favorite records that I had on cassette back in high school, Moving Pictures and 2112… I have them both on CD now, and I have a really rough copy of Moving Pictures on vinyl to boot.

There were some friends who were way more into Rush than I ever was, so I heard most of their 70s and 80s stuff… but I had never heard their debut album before. Of course, if you ever listened to classic rock radio, you’ve heard many of these… Finding My Way and In The Mood for sure… but the fantastic, fist pumping, air guitar inducing stadium rock anthem is Working Man:

Listening to this record for the first time it does seem to lack a little Rush-y-ness… perhaps due to the absence of Neil Peart? Regardless, it sounds great and I’m happy to add it to the collection.

Of the first 10 Rush records, I have 6… well on my way!

Leave a Reply

