July 19

I didn’t think I’d like it. I didn’t want to like it. In fact, if I hadn’t been too lazy to go into the other room, I probably wouldn’t have even bothered to listen to it. It was on top of the pile of trade-ins I had pulled to go up to the record store and I just thought “what the heck, I’ll throw it on the turntable while I’m getting this stuff together”.

The “it” in this case was Marquee Moon, the debut album from the band Television.

The next I know I’m floored… mesmerized by the raw guitar and off kilter lyrics. I’ve seen enough documentaries or fictionalized portraits of American punk and CBGB to have already written Television off as just a right-place-right-time band with nothing to offer 40 years on. Boy was I wrong.

These aren’t dirty punk songs, this is damned fine jazzy rock guitar post-punk… new wave! Dual guitars interplay with the bass and drum in a kind of rock and roll cat and mouse. Absent the manic punk power chords in favor of almost avant-garde jazz feel veering into prog rock and extended jams.

Heck, the title track is nearly 10 minutes long! That ain’t punk.

It makes me wonder what else I’m missing.

2 thoughts on “July 19

  1. Truthfully, I haven’t heard Television, but I’m intrigued. My son loves them and swear they are a seminal rock band. They (or remnants of them) were in Seattle a couple of weeks ago.

    Like

Leave a Reply

