July 25

Meet me, Jesus, meet me. Meet me in the middle of the air.
If my wings should fail me, Lord. Please meet me with another pair.

I just listened to the 2015 remastered, reissued version of Led Zeppelin ‎– Physical Graffiti:

There is nothing I can say to add to the discussion of this great record. It came to be my favorite LZ album in the 1980s and remains my top LZ record in a Desert Island Disc sense.

Two memories spring to mind whenever this record plays. #1 was of my first military deployment, in the back of the transport, cassette Walkman playing the familiar and comforting tones of Custard Pie while my safe and known world slipped away. #2 was cranking Kashmir on the I-5 while driving a buddy’s brother and friends to a pop concert I was loathing (but ended up enjoying).

One thought on “July 25

Leave a Reply

