August 2

So, I feel that I’ve learned a lot while working my way through the six post-Peter Green/pre-Buckingham/Nicks Fleetwod Mac albums. Why not take a run at another of my favorite bands from the same era: Journey.

Not quite the same situation… Journey was just starting up, not in transition, but these first albums should be an interesting peek behind the curtain for what became one of the world’s most successful bands.

It’s hard to overstate how huge Journey became in the Steve Perry era; multi-platnium albums, 18 top 40 singles, heavy MTV rotation and selling out arenas and then stadiums worldwide. But they didn’t start out that way.

Journey began in the San Francisco area after Santana blew up. Santana’s manager took guitarist Neal Schon and keyboardist/vocalist Gregg Rolie from the band, hired the drummer from The Tubes (later replaced by the first runner up to Mitch Mitchell of Jimi Hendrix fame) and sniped the bass player and guitar player from another local band. The idea was to form a killer back-up band, called Golden Gate Rhythm Section, to support all the big, established acts in the region.

The band gelled so well that they decided to scrap the backup-band idea and pursue a kind of prog-rock/jazz fusion path.

The albums in this period I’ll review are the band’s 1975 eponymous debut, 1976s Look Into The Future and 1977s Next:

I’ve owned a copy of Look Into The Future for years. My lovely wife found me a VG+ copy of Journey and I’m still on the hunt for Next.

Here’s a link to my previous Journey post:

https://cariboumarkt.wordpress.com/2015/02/23/february-23/

One thought on “August 2

  1. I really like that first Journey album (and frankly, cannot abide the later configuration of the band). Guess it all depends on how you are with jazz-rock vs stadium-rock, eh?
    Good luck hunting for ‘Next’. I saw it a couple of weeks ago in Melbourne but passed as I wasn’t sure which kind of music it was!

    Like

Leave a Reply

