September 6

In the fall of 1983 I was a college freshman, living on my own for the first time. (that is, as long as you count two roommates as being “on my own”) Between the three of us, we had all the basics covered… rent, food, gas, beer!

At some point I found myself with a few extra dollars burning a hole in my pocket and the record store nearby.

Next thing I know I’m the proud owner of these two albums on cassette:

u2-motleycrue

Mötley Crüe ‎– Shout At The Devil and U2 ‎– Under A Blood Red Sky

Since none of us had a working stereo we spent a lot of time cruising around in my Ford Pinto trying our best to blow the single speaker cone out of the dashboard.

Even though these two records are not remotely related, I still associate them because they each spent half time in that cassette deck for most of that semester. So, when they both turned up in the “New Arrivals” bin at Groove Merchants, I had to lay down the cash.

Now, if I could only find a Pinto!

Leave a Reply

