September 19

A while back I showed off a few of my kitschy album covers back in this blog:

I mentioned that one of my favorites is the ubiquitous Whipped Cream And Other Delights from Herb Alpert’s Tijuana Brass:

Then, I noticed this article in the Seattle Times:

Herb Alpert’s ‘Whipped Cream Lady’ now 76, living in Longview and looking back

Holy shit! We’re almost neighbours!

Turns out this most famous of all kitschy cover models, a vinyl pop icon, is 79, works at an art studio, and still does record store appearances in the Seattle area.

Her name is Dolores Erickson and, since I missed the 50th anniversary of the release of this album, I thought I would pay tribute to her and Whipped Cream And Other Delights today.

To quote miss Erickson from the article; “enjoy the view”!

PS… This album cover has been parodied so often I thought I’d share a few of my favorites here:

7 thoughts on “September 19

  1. Read the Seattle Times article when it came out and really enjoyed. I think I shared it with my journalism class as an example of great feature writing. Didn’t realize there were quite so many knock-offs. Thanks for sharing them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

