September 28

Rest in peace Miles Dewey Davis III, born May 26, 1926 – died this date in 1991.

My recent education in jazz has included many master sessions by Miles Davis. The latest came when I found a 1970’s reissue of the 1958 classic Milestones:

For this lesson we have Davis fronting a sextet including saxophonist Julian “Cannonball” Adderley and John Coltrane, double bassist Paul Chambers, drummer Philly Joe Jones, and pianist Red Garland. The album swings through many bluesy bebop and post-bop styles before settling in on the modal title track.

Side number two of this record is a real treat! Includes they look into the future title track (just listed as Miles on my reissue) the Ahmad Jamal arranged traditional song Billy Boy in the middle and the epic Straight No Chaser from Thelonious Monk as a closer.

Beginning my jazz education with Kind Of Blue was both a blessing and a curse. It did get me interested in exploring the genre, but it was a little like starting art study by replicating the Mona Lisa.

I’m thankful to Milestones for showing me the half open door that led to Kind Of Blue. I don’t imagine I will search back too much farther. There’s just too much to look forward to!

One thought on “September 28

Leave a Reply

