October 4

Okay, so this is awkward.

Last week, as I was enjoying a Friday off in preparation for weekend overnight shifts at work. I was perusing the Craigslist online classified ads for the local area… my search terms (predictably) were vinyl, record, turntable and vintage. I was very surprised when I got this ad:

Screenshot_2015-09-27-00-12-13

Holy shit!

The first thing I did was to rub my eyes and make sure I wasn’t seeing CD covers… nope these were actually vinyl record albums from the early to mid nineties grunge era, one of my favorite musical periods.

To boot, two of my favorite records were displayed, Siamese Dream from the band Smashing Pumpkins and In Utero from Nirvana.

When I saw that this posting was more than a week old. Bummer! There is no way that this ad is still valid! After 10 days someone somewhere already picked these up I’m sure. But, nothing ventured nothing gained, right? I contacted the seller via text as requested and, amazingly, had a reply within the just a few minutes.

Yes, the items were still available. But there was a catch: another buyer had agreed upon a $45 sale price sight unseen and was expected to you pick these items up that evening.

“Okay” I said, “if this deal falls through I would pay you $50 for the lot and would be available to pick them up at any time”.

A few pleasant texts back and forth solidified my spot as second in line for these items. I was disappointed to have missed out on these records, especially since the two of my favorites were included in the lot, but that is the way the cookie crumbles sometimes.

Fast forward an hour or two and i get a text from the seller: “Okay, for $50 they are yours when can you come pick them up?”

Fantastic! I texted back right away dropped everything and got set to make the pickup.

Next text from the seller: “the other guy offered $60.”

Great so now I’m in a bidding war for a lot of records of unknown condition. It also occurred to me that if I was on this site searching for records, some of my fellow vinyl hounds could be also. Was I bidding against one of my friends?

I passed on the bidding war, told the seller to consider my offer good if the other buyer failed to materialize and went on about my business.

The next day in the local used record store Groove Merchants were some very familiar looking vinyl covers hanging on the wall.

Radiohead, The Pixies, Joy Division, and these two gems:

IMG_20151004_095916121

I never did tell the guy that I’m the one that cost him the extra $15, nor did I balk at the extremely inflated price that he had these things it listed for. I just pulled out some of my record store trade-ins and struck a bargain for these.

All’s well that ends well!

4 thoughts on “October 4

Leave a Reply

