November 4

So today I had a couple of hours free in the morning too do some record digging on the island of Kauai.

Surprisingly (to me anyway), Kauai is a very rural. With the total population of around 65 thousand people for the entire island, it really feels like you are out in the countryside just traveling between small towns and villages.

The main city, Lihue, is nothing more than a small town surrounding a big airport.

We are staying on the south shore of the island and that’s where we were touring around yesterday. The east shore north of Lihue is the older touristy area of the island and very traditional Hawaiian.

There were three thrift stores I wanted to check out, two in Lihue and another slightly farther north.

My first stop was the good old a Salvation Army in Lihue. Apparently having survived a recent flood, all the doors and windows were open and fans were running trying to push them at the air from inside to outside. The whole place smells like my record collection, it was wonderful!

unfortunately, the records selection in this particular thrift store was subpar consisting mainly of Reader’s Digest box sets, of Funk & Wagnall compilations, and Christmas albums. I did manage to find one Blue Note Records of an artist I’ve never heard before, but the album was destroyed:

IMG_20151104_103250024

As a consolation prize I picked out a old 78 rpm Columbia record. I don’t know what the content was but it had a beautiful portrait of a Japanese woman on the record label itself and Japanese writing explaining it to someone that has the knowledge to read it.

When I asked the lady how much the records were she calmly replied “They’re $5 a piece”.

Holy cow lady! I wouldn’t give you $5 for all those records” is what I wanted to say but I just shook my head no said that was too much.

“I’ll take $2” she responded.

Still too much, I decided I would find a souvenir of this record digging elsewhere.

I then went on a little bit farther north and visited a thrift store that was run privately but donated its proceeds to the Humane Society type organization. They had no records at all!

Disheartened I proceeded northward to another private thrift store called Hoomana. The friendly and helpful staff there point me to a rather large selection of records and I found some vinyl gold!

IMG_20151104_120233623_HDR

If air travel weren’t occurring in my near future I would have taken 30 records home from this place. Several DJ type promos that looked unplayed of artists that I was interested in. I settled on 5 records, a couple of which I was not familiar with… but did find one piece of Hawaiian music I was looking for… a Keola & Kapono Beamer slack key guitar record.

Success!

Leave a Reply

