November 23

There are a couple of areas in The Collection that have grown exponentially. Mostly by accident, I have begun collecting pop and easy listening records from the late fifties and early sixties. A great example of this is 1963 number one record Blame It On The Bossa Nova by Eydie Gorme:

Many of the releases in this genre and from this area, at least the ones I’ve heard on reputable record labels like Columbia or RCA, sound fantastic and are a blast to listen to.

Here Gorme, a top-notch vocalist, puts her Latin specialty spin on many of the Bossa Nova craze hits of the day including Desafinado and the belle of the ball… One Note Samba:

Also included are Latin-ish takes on popular Broadway tunes written by Lerner and Loewe and Richard Rodgers.

The best thing about collecting these used vinyl is they’re relatively plentiful and cheap! I scored this nearly mint copy for a dime.

This is great cocktail party music, the familiar tunes are easy to hum along with… even if you don’t know that you’ve heard it before.

2 thoughts on “November 23

  1. The single “Blame It on The Bossa Nova” was a bane of my 9-year-old existence during its time as a #7 hit in 1963. I actually liked this toe-tapper but was required to hate it because it was my parents’ music as played on WIND AM, our Chicago family’s locked-in radio tuning during my youth. I truly loathed “Blue on Blue” by Bobby Vinton later that year (and still do), although the Royksopp sampling in “So Easy” has mellowed me a tad. But some of this hatred must have bled through to my parents consciousness. They bought a Sony transistor radio for me in August 1963 (I can date it because I remember “My Boyfriend’s Back” was this #1 that week). I was free of WIND and on to WLS (pop music that included my 9-year-old demographic). Free at last.

    Like

Leave a Reply

