Heartache Tonight

So another one of my musical heroes has passed away. Glenn Frey, a founding member of the band The Eagles, left the eyrie for good at 67.

Co-founder of the band, musical partner and sometimes combatant brother Don Henley had this remembrance: “Glenn was the one who started it all. He was the spark plug, the man with the plan. He had an encyclopedic knowledge of popular music and a work ethic that wouldn’t quit. He was funny, bullheaded, material, generous, deeply talented and driven.”

What else can you say about an artist who took the baton of laid-back California country rock and helped push it across the finish line as the biggest American band of the 70s?

I was lucky enough to see The Eagles back in 2008. Sound wise, theatrically and artistically it was one of the best concerts I’ve seen. Minus the rain and the mud it may have been tops!

Even after superstardom, The Eagles were easy to mock. And mocked they were, relentlessly, by hipsters and critics… an easy target. Still, even the most relentless of critics, Robert Christgau, wrote: “Do I hate music that has been giving me pleasure all weekend, made by for human beings I’ve never met? Yeah, I think so. Listening to the Eagles has left me feeling alienated from things I used to love.”

So, there you have it from the godfather of the rock and roll commentariat… the music gives him pleasure, yet he hates it because it makes him question his beliefs.

That’s what good music does!

The remembrance on The Eagles website is simple and touching, and includes the lyrics from this Frey song:

“It’s Your World Now”

Written by Glenn Frey and Jack Tempchin

From the Eagles’ Long Road Out of Eden album

A perfect day, the sun is sinkin’ low
As evening falls, the gentle breezes blow
The time we shared went by so fast
Just like a dream, we knew it couldn’t last
But I’d do it all again
If I could, somehow
But I must be leavin’ soon
It’s your world now

It’s your world now
My race is run
I’m moving on
Like the setting sun
No sad goodbyes
No tears allowed
You’ll be alright
It’s your world now

Even when we are apart
You’ll always be in my heart
When dark clouds appear in the sky
Remember true love never dies

But first a kiss, one glass of wine
Just one more dance while there’s still time
My one last wish: someday, you’ll see
How hard I tried and how much you meant to me

It’s your world now
Use well your time
Be part of something good
Leave something good behind
The curtain falls
I take my bow
That’s how it’s meant to be
It’s your world now
It’s your world now
It’s your world now

One thought on “Heartache Tonight

Leave a Reply

