Goodbye Old Friend

He was ever-present. From my earliest musical memories; my sister’s hand me down Beatles albums, to some of the most recent music purchased, Sir George Martin’s fingerprints were on at all.

In the video era,  revelations on The Complete Beatles and more information on Anthology, George Martin was the gatekeeper to understanding my favorite band.

Even after the split and the band were trying to distance themselves from each other, he was Keeper of the Flame… working on solo albums, re-releases and compilations right up until the most recent re-imagining for Cirque du Soleil.

Now, with the hundred word stringer articles piling up in my breaking news feed and your name trending ever higher on search engines and social media… your Wikipedia profile already updated… I remember the joy and solace you brought to my life as the real 5th Beatle. Rest in peace George Martin, and thank you.

One thought on “Goodbye Old Friend

Leave a Reply

