I Was Really Drunk At The Time

I recently learned the guitarist Henry McCullough passed away at age 72. Another Woodstock alum lost in this seemingly cruel year.

McCullough, who supported Joe Cocker’s Grease Band at Woodstock worked with many other popular artists of the day and was featured on the cast recording of Jesus Christ Superstar. He’s also heard on the song Money from Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon, but not on guitar…

His is the voice near the end saying “I don’t know, I was really drunk at the time.”

Not that I knew any of these facts before this week… I only knew of Henry because of his fantastic guitar work on the Wings song My Love from the album Red Rose Speedway:

IMG_20160618_224145503

That solo is one that really sticks with you. So pure and true. It ranks up there in my top 10ish guitar leads of all time. Here’s the man himself… the lead starts at ~2:08:

 

Not to pile on here, but I learned this morning that bluegrass music pioneer Ralph Stanley died yesterday at the age of 89.

Ralph and his brother Carter formed the Stanley Brothers and their Clinch Mountain Boys band in the 50s. The Clinch Mountain Boys were responsible for launching other welol known musical acts such as Ricky Skaggs and Keith Whitley.

Of course, I didn’t know any of that either. My first encounter with Mr. Stanley came in the year 2000 when he performed the hauntingly wonderful dirge O Death in one of my favorite movies “O Brother, Where Art Thou?”

 

So, R.I.P. Mr. McCullough and Mr. Stanley. I think this copy of Ralph Stanley’s Old Country Church will be a great soundtrack for this morning’s mourning…

IMG_20160624_092018249.jpg

 

 

2 thoughts on “I Was Really Drunk At The Time

Leave a Reply

