Wherefore Art Thou Lola?

My dear Lola I miss you!

You were my first, all those years ago and I still think about you often.

Of course, there have been others since then. But none of them compare to you, Lola!

IMG_20160711_191549.jpg

So here’s the story. My very first Kinks record was Lola Versus Powerman and the Moneygoround.  I found her in a used record store in Tacoma Washington in 1986.

Of course I knew the song Lola from the radio but the rest of this album was so witty and full of biting commentary… I was hooked!

Unfortunately, so was one of my dorm mates and this album disappeared from my collection under suspicious circumstances.

Since that time I’ve looked high and low for a replacement copy, but have had no luck. Until today!

IMG_20160807_144219.jpg

So, now that Lola and I have been reunited the question is, does she sound as good as I remember?

Even better!

 

3 thoughts on “Wherefore Art Thou Lola?

  1. Mark, first of all, I miss your regular posts, and I say that as someone who has fallen off the wagon at all. During the baseball season I often write about the Mariners. But I love Lola vs. Powerman and the Moneygoround. Were you able to find a good deal, or did you have to submit a pay full price. Not an easy get cheap, so I need to know. Been on my wantlist since day one. Hope all is well.

    Like

    1. Thanks! Although I enjoyed the blog last year… every day was much too much for me! I’ve told myself to just get back on a regular schedule, weekly or something, but life intervenes. My copy of Lola came in a stack of 75 awesome rock records for a grand sum of $30! You have to love yard sale season. Good to hear from you. Go Mariners!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

